## JAMESTOWN CITY COUNCIL FINAL MEETING, JUNE 23, 2020 OFFICIAL MINUTES

The final meeting of the City Council was called to order by Mayor Heinrich at 4:00 P.M.

The Pledge of Allegiance to the flag was recited.

Roll Call showed the following members present: Mayor Heinrich, Council Members Phillips, Steele, Brubakken and Buchanan, City Attorney Ryan, Assistant City Attorney Geroux, and City Administrator Hellekson.

Council Member Buchanan moved to approve the minutes of the regular council meeting, June 1, 2020; special council meeting June 4, and the special council meeting June 18, 2020, and, as amended, committee meeting June 18, 2020. Seconded by Council Member Phillips. Unanimous aye vote. Carried.

Council Member Brubakken moved to approve the following consent agenda items:

- A. Resolution to approve renewing the Jamestown Tourism Enterprise Agreement, which expires December 31, 2020.
- B. Resolution to approve renewing the Jamestown Tourism land lease, which expires December 31, 2020.
- C. Resolution to approve and authorize termination of the contract with Honeywell International Inc., at the Jamestown Civic Center.
- D. Resolution to approve the 2021 contract for the Jamestown Community Correction (JCC) Program.
- E. Resolution to update fees for abandoned and impounded vehicles.

Seconded by Council Member Steele. Consent Roll Call No. 1 showed: 5 ayes, 0 nays, 0 absent. Carried.

Council Member Brubakken moved a Resolution to award the quote to Scherbenske Inc., for the removal of sandbag levees at three (3) locations, in the amount of \$53,900. City Engineer Dillman stated that the request for quotes was sent to eight contractors, but only two submitted quotes. The completion date is July 10, 2020. The City must submit the complete request for reimbursement for the 2019 flood to ND DES by July 21, 2020. Costs include damage from removal, but not damage from sandbags being in place. Seconded by Council Member Phillips. Roll Call No. 2 showed: 5 ayes, 0 nays, 0 absent. Carried.

Council Member Brubakken moved a Resolution to certify that the below named officers were elected by a majority vote at the 2020 State Primary/City Election all with terms to expire June 2024: Council Member Brian Kamlitz - 2,407 Votes; Council Member David Schloegel - 1,997 Votes; Council Member Dan Buchanan – 1,987 Votes; City Park Commissioner Mark A. Ukestad, 2,525 Votes; City Park Commissioner Ron Olson - 2,254 Votes, and to certify City Measure #1 "Shall the minutes of its governing body be published in its official newspaper" passed by a vote of 2,913 Yes votes and 328 No votes. Seconded by Council Member Phillips. Roll Call No. 3 showed: 5 ayes, 0 nays, 0 absent. Carried.

Council Member Phillips moved a Resolution to allow chickens to be kept within City Limits at 603 21<sup>st</sup> Ave NE. Seconded by Council Member Steele. Susan Schauer provided written support from neighbors. Building Inspector and Planning and Zoning Coordinator Blackmore provided information about the requirements. Roll Call No. 4 showed: 5 ayes 0 nays, 0 absent. Carried.

Council Member Phillips moved a Resolution to approve changing the stop loss coverage from \$20,000 to \$30,000 per member and establish the monthly premium rates for the City of Jamestown Employee Group Health Plan for the fiscal year September 1, 2020 through August 31, 2021, as follows:

	City Share	Employee Share	<u> Total</u>
Single Employee Plan	\$694.72	-0-	\$694.72
Single Plus Dependent	\$900.50	\$322.20	\$1,222.70
Family Plan	\$1,103.14	\$703.12	\$1,806.26

Seconded by Council Member Brubakken. Roll Call No. 5 showed: 5 ayes, 0 nays, 0 absent. Carried.

Mayor Heinrich presented Plaques of Appreciation to Council Member Phillips for her four years of service as Council Member, and to Council Member Brubakken for his eight years of service as Council Member for the City of Jamestown.

Council Member Phillips moved to adjourn sine die. Seconded by Council Member Brubakken. Unanimous aye vote. Carried.

ATTEST: APPROVED:

SARAH HELLEKSON
City Administrator
DWAINE HEINRICH
Mayor

## JAMESTOWN CITY COUNCIL ORGANIZATIONAL MEETING, JUNE 23, 2020 UNOFFICIAL MINUTES

Mayor Heinrich administered the oath of office to elected Council Members Brian Kamlitz, Dan Buchanan, and David Schloegel and City Attorney Abbigail Geroux.

The organizational meeting of the City Council was called to order by Mayor Heinrich.

Roll Call showed the following members present: Mayor Heinrich, Council Members Buchanan, Kamlitz, Schloegel and Steele, Assistant City Attorney Geroux and City Administrator Hellekson.

Council Member Steele nominated Council Member Buchanan to serve as President of the Council. Seconded by Council Member Schloegel. Unanimous aye vote. Carried.

Council Member Buchanan nominated Council Member Steele to serve as Vice-President of the Council. Seconded by Council Member Kamlitz. Unanimous aye vote. Carried.

Council Member Steele moved to appoint Leo Ryan to serve as <u>City Attorney and City Prosecutor</u> for a two-year term to expire June 2022. Seconded by Council Member Buchanan. Unanimous aye vote. Carried.

Council Member Steele moved to appoint Abbigail Geroux to serve as <u>Assistant City Prosecutor and Assistant City Attorney</u> for a two-year term to expire June 2022. Seconded by Council Member Kamlitz. Unanimous aye vote. Carried.

Council Member Steele moved to appoint Tonya Duffy to serve as a <u>Special City Prosecutor</u> for a two-year term to expire June 2022. Seconded by Council Member Schloegel. Unanimous aye vote. Carried.

Council Member Buchanan moved to appoint Council Member Schloegel to serve on the <u>South Central Dakota Regional Council</u> to fill the unexpired term of Steve Brubakken, September 2020. Seconded by Council Member Steele. Unanimous aye vote. Carried.

Council Member Steele moved to appoint Council Member Buchanan to serve as a City Council representative on the <u>County Zoning Board</u> for a four-year term to expire June 2024. Seconded by Council Member Kamlitz. Unanimous aye vote. Carried.

Council Member Steele moved to appoint Council Member Kamlitz to serve as a City Council representative on the <u>County Weed Board</u> to fill the unexpired term of Pam Phillips, December 2020. Seconded by Council Member Buchanan. Unanimous aye vote. Carried.

Council Member Kamlitz moved to appoint Council Member Steele to serve as a City Council representative on the <u>Law Enforcement Governing Board</u> to fill the unexpired term of Steve Brubakken, December 2020. Seconded by Council Member Schloegel. Unanimous aye vote. Carried.

Council Member Steele moved to appoint Council Members Kamlitz and Schloegel to serve on the <u>Storm Water Committee</u> to fill the unexpired terms of Pam Phillips and Steve Brubakken, terms expiring April 2021. Seconded by Council Member Buchanan. Unanimous aye vote. Carried.

Mayor Heinrich made the following Committee Chair appointments: Finance & Legal Committee and Personnel Committee Chair-Mayor Heinrich; Building, Planning and Zoning Committee Chair-Council Member Kamlitz; Civic Center & Promotion Committee Chair-Council Member Schloegel; Police & Fire Committee Chair-Council Member Buchanan; Public Works Committee Chair-Council Member Steele.

Council Member Steele moved to adjourn. Seconded by Council Member Kamlitz. Unanimous aye vote. Carried.

ATTEST: APPROVED:

SARAH HELLEKSON, City Administrator DWAINE HEINRICH, Mayor